Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
10 23, 19, 10:21:25:PM

Login with username and password

Democracy Dies In The Dark

Search:     Advanced search
2208122 Posts in 249621 Topics by 302 Members
Latest Member: test
* Website Home Help Login Register
 |  Technology  |  PC problems  |  Topic: cd's or dvd's 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: 1  Print
Author Topic: cd's or dvd's  (Read 1090 times)
dont-blameme
Contributor
Sr. Member

Posts: 62789


« on: 03 02, 13, 01:01:45:PM » Reply

Any know if and how to run a scandisk on a cd or dvd disk to see if it has bad files my system is running win7 and it wont let me do a chkdisk on the drive that has the cd or dvd.
Byteryder
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Sr. Member

Posts: 32425

ante omnia armari


« Reply #1 on: 03 02, 13, 01:05:50:PM » Reply

Copy the files to a new folder on your HD and check them there.  Then just dump the folder when your done.
dont-blameme
Contributor
Sr. Member

Posts: 62789


« Reply #2 on: 03 02, 13, 01:06:41:PM » Reply

Ok thanks byte..
dont-blameme
Contributor
Sr. Member

Posts: 62789


« Reply #3 on: 03 02, 13, 01:09:17:PM » Reply

the cd in question works fine in winxp the file will open and run, its when I use the disk in win 7 that I have the problem, there are 5 total disk and its the #2 disk in win7 that wont work
 
Jim
When someone claims to have an Open Mind they are soon shocked, dismayed, and offended that there actually are other views.
Contributor
Sr. Member

Posts: 49248

What would they do without Anecdotals or Snark


« Reply #4 on: 03 02, 13, 01:16:42:PM » Reply

 
Copy ALL 5 Disks into the same directory and run "setup" from there.
 
OR
 
Copy Disk 2 into a directory and burn onto a new disk.
 
 
dont-blameme
Contributor
Sr. Member

Posts: 62789


« Reply #5 on: 03 02, 13, 01:30:46:PM » Reply

Copy Disk 2 into a directory and burn onto a new disk.
 
Done that jim then win7 tells me it's not dist#2
 
I will copy all disk's into a folder on the desktop and go from there . thanks.

That may work.
 
Jim
When someone claims to have an Open Mind they are soon shocked, dismayed, and offended that there actually are other views.
Contributor
Sr. Member

Posts: 49248

What would they do without Anecdotals or Snark


« Reply #6 on: 03 02, 13, 01:43:29:PM » Reply

Done that jim then win7 tells me it's not dist#2

I doubt it is copy protected since everything requires a long Keycode now.  Usually the new Disc is unrecognized because you forgot to give it the same LABEL as the first.   The LABEL name must be the same uppercase or lowercase as the original.
 
The LABEL name is what shows up after the Drive name in your MyComputer.  Or put it in your Burner to get the Label name. Then input that name for the new Disc.
 
If that fails, then they coded the Disc itself.  However, if you copy all Discs into a single directory and it runs fine from there, then the disc is not coded. :- )
 
 
dont-blameme
Contributor
Sr. Member

Posts: 62789


« Reply #7 on: 03 02, 13, 03:17:54:PM » Reply

Nothing worked, so I can replace the whole game now for under $10.00, so Ill just buy a new one.
Pages: 1  Print 
 |  Technology  |  PC problems  |  Topic: cd's or dvd's
Jump to:  

AesopsRetreat Links


AesopsRetreat
YouTube Channel


Build The Wall
Go FundMe Link



Rules For Radicals.



2nd Amendment Source



5 minute Education




Join Me at KIVA
My Kiva Stats


Truth About
Slaves and Indians




r/K Theory




White Privilege




Conservatives:
What Do We Believe


Part 1:
Small Govt & Free Enterprise

Part 2:

The Problem with Elitism

Part 3:
Wealth Creation

Part 4:
Natural Law



Global Warming Scam



Lend a hand


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © AesopsRetreat
Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.083 seconds with 33 queries.