Technology => PC problems => Topic started by: dont-blameme on 03 02, 13, 06:01:45:PM



Title: cd's or dvd's
Post by: dont-blameme on 03 02, 13, 06:01:45:PM
Any know if and how to run a scandisk on a cd or dvd disk to see if it has bad files my system is running win7 and it wont let me do a chkdisk on the drive that has the cd or dvd.


Title: Re: cd's or dvd's
Post by: Byteryder on 03 02, 13, 06:05:50:PM
Copy the files to a new folder on your HD and check them there.  Then just dump the folder when your done.


Title: Re: cd's or dvd's
Post by: dont-blameme on 03 02, 13, 06:06:41:PM
Ok thanks byte(http://www.aesopsretreat.com/forum/Smileys/classic/hattip.gif)(http://www.aesopsretreat.com/forum/Smileys/classic/hattip.gif)(http://www.aesopsretreat.com/forum/Smileys/classic/hattip.gif)(http://www.aesopsretreat.com/forum/Smileys/classic/hattip.gif)(http://www.aesopsretreat.com/forum/Smileys/classic/hattip.gif)(http://www.aesopsretreat.com/forum/Smileys/classic/hattip.gif)..


Title: Re: cd's or dvd's
Post by: dont-blameme on 03 02, 13, 06:09:17:PM
the cd in question works fine in winxp the file will open and run, its when I use the disk in win 7 that I have the problem, there are 5 total disk and its the #2 disk in win7 that wont work
 


Title: Re: cd's or dvd's
Post by: Jim on 03 02, 13, 06:16:42:PM
 
Copy ALL 5 Disks into the same directory and run "setup" from there.
 
OR
 
Copy Disk 2 into a directory and burn onto a new disk.
 
 


Title: Re: cd's or dvd's
Post by: dont-blameme on 03 02, 13, 06:30:46:PM
Copy Disk 2 into a directory and burn onto a new disk.
 
Done that jim then win7 tells me it's not dist#2
 
I will copy all disk's into a folder on the desktop and go from there . thanks.

That may work.
 


Title: Re: cd's or dvd's
Post by: Jim on 03 02, 13, 06:43:29:PM
Done that jim then win7 tells me it's not dist#2

I doubt it is copy protected since everything requires a long Keycode now.  Usually the new Disc is unrecognized because you forgot to give it the same LABEL as the first.   The LABEL name must be the same uppercase or lowercase as the original.
 
The LABEL name is what shows up after the Drive name in your MyComputer.  Or put it in your Burner to get the Label name. Then input that name for the new Disc.
 
If that fails, then they coded the Disc itself.  However, if you copy all Discs into a single directory and it runs fine from there, then the disc is not coded. :- )
 
 


Title: Re: cd's or dvd's
Post by: dont-blameme on 03 02, 13, 08:17:54:PM
Nothing worked, so I can replace the whole game now for under $10.00, so Ill just buy a new one.